Foreclosure Purchaser Registry
Maryland law now requires that a foreclosure purchaser register with the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation residential property purchased at a foreclosure sale.
Initial RegistrationWithin 30 days of the purchase, the purchaser must register the following information:
1) The name, telephone number and address of purchaser
2) The street address of the property purchased in the foreclosure sale
3) The date of the foreclosure sale
4) Whether the property is a single-family or multi-family property
5) The name and address of the person, who is authorized to accept legal service for the foreclosure purchaser
6) To the best of the foreclosure purchaser’s knowledge at the time of registration:
a. Whether the purchased property is vacant
b. The name, telephone number and street address of the person who is responsible for the maintenance of the property
7) Whether the foreclosure purchaser has possession of the property
There is a fee of $50 for ontime initial registration and $100 for late initial registration.
After initial registration, the purchaser will receive a property ID # which will be required to submit the final registration.
Final RegistrationWithin 30 days of the deed being recorded, the original purchaser must register the following information:
1) The name, telephone number and address of the owner on the deed
2) The date of the ratification of the sale
3) The date the deed was recorded
There is no fee for the final registration.